Daily 5 Update…Lots of Pics!

Hi again friends….

I just wanted to take a couple of minutes and update you on our Daily 5 journey. Things are going smashingly well during Daily 5!! I am sooooooo happy! We have already hit our 20 minutes of Read to Self stamina…Can I get a WOOT WOOT!

I wanted to show you the posters that we make as I introduce a new Daily 5 choice. I found these AWESOME freebies from Mrs. Jones’ Creation Station on TPT and I blew them up to poster size (24 x 36) and had them printed up by Vistaprint…expensive….a bit…But I laminated them so I am good to go for years to come!

We haven’t completed our Work on Writing or Read to Someone icharts yet…but we will!

I also added this ichart to the mix! I will be using Guided Math this year in my classroom so I am going to be creating an ichart for what I should see and hear during Guided Math Stations. Keep an eye out for my upcoming posts about Guided Math!

I always begin Daily 5 with Read to Self, then I introduce Listen to Reading, then Word Work, then Work on Writing, and last is Read to Someone. I just don’t think they can handle the behaviors that I want to see with Read to Someone early on…so I leave that until last🙂

I think my favorite Daily 5 center is Listen to Reading. I poured my heart and soul into my Listening Centers (PLURAL) this year! I spent the better part of my summer transferring my cassette tapes into mp3 file for my iPods (well…they are mp3 players that look like ipods for a FRACTION of the price).

I have 7 ipods and 6 individual CD players. Here are my six iPod Listen to Reading stations…

Here is a close-up of what is in each Listen to Reading basket. I have 15 books in each basket and I put all 15 books on the iPods. I have 7 different colored iPods for my Listen to Reading station. I put an ipod and a list of the 15 books that are on each ipod. When I introduced how to use the ipods, we worked in groups of 4 or 5 and I showed them how to use them and how to get to the story they wanted to read.
I CANNOT believe HOW MUCH EASIER THIS IS THAN CASSETTE TAPES!!!!!!!! DID YOU HEAR/READ THAT! LOL This is a walk in the park compared to the antiquated cassette tapes!

I purchased these iPods from a seller on ebay for about $16.00 each..YEP! That is it!!!!! Perfect!

Then I have my real ipod that I no longer use for my group listening center. I have a ton of multiple copy books that I add to this center and put the audio on my iPod.

[Pin on Pinterest]

I purchased this fun little adapter from Amazon and now I can have 5 students reading at once. I have 6 copies of each of the books that you see above. Did I tell you that I L.O.V.E. Listen to Reading!

If you want to get your hands on one of these adapters, click the link below to get your hands on it from Amazon…

[Pin on Pinterest]

When my students finish Listen to Reading during our Daily 5 Rotation, they must complete a written assignment in their Listen to Reading Journal.. Click the image below to get your Listen to Reading Journal FREEBIE!

[Pin on Pinterest]

Well….That’s about it for now! I will be doing another blog post when I introduce Work on Writing and Read to Someone…so keep on the lookout!

Until then…

Hugs

retrieving from: http://www.simplyskilledinsecond.blogspot.com/2013/09/daily-5-updatelots-of-pics.html

Tinggalkan Balasan

